Something to write hOme about…

We just got back “home” from a night out at the JZ Club (jazz club) and I have to say: Kudos to my London/ Nigerian/ Austrian artists, singers, song-writers.. in short, talented individuals active in the music industry as a whole! (One might of course choose to discuss “talent” at this point.. I refuse to)

I’ve always appreciated talent (we’ve all got at least one, whether we be aware of it or not), and more so people consciously making use of them- for personal use or the benefit of others- and (and here it comes: ) adding skill/ expertise to it! I understand the fact that many people like music, performing arts, dancing, singing, etc. but if you know you merely enjoy it, and might not necessarily be good at it, (i.e. lack the skill to make it enjoyable for others to watch/listen to).. leave it to/for others (!) or do it (whatever “it” might be in your case) for your own personal pleasure and that of those who love you and can either not be bothered or offended by it. I am trying not to be offended, but there are just way too many people “making” others pay for/ watch a “talent” that simply does not exist. If I pay for a service, I expect to derive at least some basic satisfaction from it! Just because you like something, doesn’t mean you have to do it.. *duh* Why not just leave it to those who’re good at it (similar to the notion of “comparative advantage”), and return the favour by doing what you’re good at..?

Why am I saying this? So, we went this jazz bar, and there were three guys “performing”.. the drummer was top-notch, no doubt about that. He was passionate, yet maintain complete control. His drumming made “sense”.. it was a mixture of passion and skills; then there was the e-guitar player (a beginner? dunno..ask him) who was controlled, but didnt show much skill beyond “basic”. You kind of could tell there was some hidden fire he was trying to contain (he did so successfully.. didnt wow me but once) and then, the star of the show: the saxophonist, who was quite obviously on something.. and made no secret of it. Actually, I refuse to allow his inability to play well be blamed on any substance, as I have seen/heard many a musician play well, or even better.. with the aid of medicine (*cough* not justifying anything here). This guy, however, felt it ok to play off-key, allow his “passion” to drift into unfamiliar (musical) territory (which is no crime in itself) and made it quite unbearable and impossible to listen to/ enjoy. What upset me the most however, was the fact that there was a large number of ppl (listeners) totally amazed by his musical “talent”. They kept shouting and clapping.. even when saying foolish things like “In my next life, after incarnation, I will return as a musical note, so that no one can destroy me.” Don’t know whether that was supposed to be philosophical and sound deep but people’s reaction to it was nothing but perverse! He then introduced the next song (or whatever you want to call it) with the following words, “This song is about a red ball. A boy owned a red ball that kept expanding. It eventually got so big, that the boy stepped inside it. So, step inside the ball, as it expands. Step in!” And I’m like.. *no comment* Looking around, ppl actually thinking about what the guy just said. All young professional Caucasian males.. acting as though they’ve got advanced musical knowledge.. mentally digesting the musicians wise words.. *mchewwwwwwww*

I appreciate beauty in all its form.. nature, bodies, ideas, shapes, and music.. And it somehow personally offends me to see ppl take advantage of the fact that there might be others who do not understand what “beauty” is. I do agree that “beauty lies in the eye of the beholder” nevertheless, there are some standard all men (humanity) must adhere to. The fact that you are passionate about something really does not give you the right to do whatever you will with/about it… or maybe, it does? Maybe we- the understanding– need to complain less, and take action when we see certain rights/privileges abused and/or misused? At times that right might really just be to step out, and stop (watching/ listening).

In a way I’m glad I went; I’m glad I didn’t have to pay entry.. I doubt the crowd would have been that amazed had they actually paid to listen. There’s only that much one should expect from free events. So, once I attend an event I actually have to pay entry for, I expect (and really do hope) I’ll have something to write home about. x

7 Comments Add yours

  1. N says:

    ur blog cracks me up!! LOL 😉 you have a way of “saying” things…ohh i love how you describe each member of the band…the vocalist’s passion drift into unfamiliar musical territory…LOL..i can relate to it…

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      lol.. I’m sure most of us can (at least I hope so!!). and then there are those novices (I am not claiming to be a pro.. far from it) clapping and shouting, thinking the “unusual sound” to be some kind of vocal “skill”.. *arggggh*

  2. darling says:

    You’re absolutely horrible! Maybe it wasn’t just your style. That doesn’t have to mean no one else really enjoyed it. So, don’t be so super critical!! :-p

    “I appreciate beauty in all its forms” – some serious psychological analysis of yourself. Maybe that should be number THREE in your “a piece of me” section? (Yes, I’ve been reading! Just because I don’t comment on everything, doesn’t mean I’m not actually reading it all. – wink)

    Miss you; and by the way: your blog is so “You”. I love it!

  3. DeMorrieaux says:

    Haha.. funny you said that; I just replied to your other post accusing you of not reading my blog (regularly) *blushing* but oh well..

    My blog is so “Me”…? Lol Before nko?!

  4. Fran says:

    you’re too funny..
    totally feeling this post.. cracked me up loads..
    all my ‘heaviness’ suddenly feels light..

    my colleagues just gave me some serious looks, couldn’t contain the laughter..

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      that’s a sweet compliment lol *blushing*
      what colleague, by the way??
      n how’s work? very busy? xXx

      its shO’s bday soooon *dancing*

  5. Tetra says:

    I’ve read this so many times and I just can’t stop laughing.

feel free to say something..

