On Prostitution and Tripping…

As promised, here’s today’s post! Sorry to disappoint you, but it’s not half as controversial as the title initially suggests haha.. It’s still all true, valid, and factual tho’! No lies..  😉

Today, I’ll be sharing two things with you. 1. Extracts from an amazing book; and 2. Pictures from my trip to Hanzhou!

Firstly, I’m currently reading another of Paolo Coelho’s amazing books Eleven Minutes, and cannot but share a few of my favourite passages. It’s a book I would not necessarily recommend to everyone, but mehnnnnn I know quite a few of you who would greatly benefit from its content. Hence: I’ll make recommendations on an  individual basis. The following four excerpts were chosen for very personal reasons.. Not because I was ever a prostitute (I was not…) but passages I can deeply relate to.. Who knows- I might just decide to share with you one day, but for now: Enjoy the extracts! (If I can say that.. Oh well..)

Maria was a respectable, rather unusual prostitute, and after six months she had acquired a large, faithful, very selective clientèle. [..] As for sex, it had as yet added nothing to her life: it was just a matter of opening her legs, asking them to use a condom, moaning a bit in the hope of getting better tips, and taking a shower afterwards, hoping that the water would wash her soul clean. Nothing out of the ordinary and no kissing. For a prostitute, the kiss was sacred. Nyah had taught her to keep the kisses for the love of her life.. (p. 82)

..she knew that she wasn’t the only person who felt lonely. Human beings can withstand a week without water, two weeks without food, many years of homelessness, but not loneliness. It is the worst of all tortures, the worst of all sufferings. Like her, these men, and the many others who sought her company, were all tormented by that same destructive feeling, the sense that no one else on the planet cared about them. (p. 88)

Passion makes a person stop eating, sleeping, working, feeling at peace. A lot of people are frightened because, when it appears, it demolishes all the old things it finds in its path.
No one wants their life thrown into chaos. That is why a lot of people keep that threat under control, and are somehow capable of sustaining a house or a structure that is already rotten. They are the engineers of the superseded.
Other people think exactly the opposite: they surrender themselves without a second thought, hoping to find in passion the solution to all their problems.
They are either euphoric because something marvellous has happened or depressed because something unexpected has just ruined everything.
Keeping passion at bay or surrendering blindly to it- which of these two attitudes is the least destructive?
I don’t know. (p. 119/120)

 “Would you like a coffee?”
Maria shook her head. No, she wouldn’t. You can’t treat me differently just yet. I’m confronting my own demons, doing the exact opposite of what I promised myself I would do. But let’s take things slowly; tonight I’ll play the part of prostitute or friend or understanding mother, even though in my soul I’m a Daughter in need of affection. When it’s all over, then you can make me coffee. (p. 123)

Secondly, as predicted, I had quite a lovely weekend. We went on a trip to Hanzhou yesterday.. and it was absolutely beautiful! We did all the “touristy” things; i.e. walking round the temples, taking pictures, and spending time at the West Lake. In a way, I prefer Hanzhou to Shanghai, It’s smaller, cosier, warmer, slower, has less taxis (which is a bonus, really, but arggggh.. on the downside: it was a nightmare getting one! We ended up jumping on the bus!! Yh, yh.. spoilt we are, I know.. but come on.. having difficulties getting a taxi?! Pff! That was a first..), and is much greener than Shanghai! Coming from Austria, I was born with a love and hunger for green spots and nature in general.. a luxury Shanghainese can only dream of.. but Hanzhou? Hmm.. they’re enjoying.. Talk about the Shangri-La in that city!! Could and would shame all others.. any time, any day.. But back to the story: So, we went round, took lots of pics, and then the train back to Shanghai.
Today, I went to work in the morning, did a bit of accessories-shopping thereafter, headed down to church, and then had a lovely dinner at Elements Fresh with a couple of “friends”. Here the pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Fran says:

    lol at the post title..
    interesting extracts- do they give away what the book’s about?
    lovely pics.. your hair has grown a lot!!!

    sent you d txt yday.. hope u got it..

    xxx

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      ellow!!

      Well… it doesnt really give much away.. but then again, it kind of does, if you know what I mean lol.. it’s one of those stories you know the ending of as soon as you start reading.. but its the DETAIL that make it all worth the read.. 🙂

      ..and yeah, my hair has really grown. it’s much longer than it actually looks on the pic. It must be the weather. it’s making everyone’s hair grow.. everywhere!! Guess that’s why Chinese woman don’t shave lol too much work…*puke*

      x

  2. Anonymous says:

    omg…vic.. I just finished reading Redeeming Love (well, some weeks ago).
    And you know me …… but this novel took me just under 2 weeks.
    Absolutely fabulous..changed my conceptions and thoughts and me soooo much.
    I am in AWE of this book and more so the kind of God portrayed in it. It is amazing.
    So yes, I want to start READING more novels (this kind of style) and I am trusting your judgement so please come back with books ready for me to read.

    shO xxxx

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Now that’s a testimony right there!!!
      Glad to hear you read and enjoyed it.

      Francince Rivers books are generally off the chain. You might as well just go ahead and order a few via amazon.co.uk! Haha (Will safe me time and money too 😉 )

      Lami still has my copy of the book. Maybe you can encourage that naughty woman to kuku read it too!! (If she hasn’t done so already) lol

      x

feel free to say something..

