Women (and a few Men) of Wit: Literature Classics!

A list of my favourite classics (these books are obviously not for all lol)- in no particular order. Most of the books are in my private collection; a few of them I am yet to read. But all of them- with absolutely no exception- are recommended must-reads!
****
  • Jane Austen: Persuasion
  • Jane Austen: Pride & Prejudice
  • Jane Austen: Sense & Sensibility
  • Virginia Woolf: Flush
  • Virginia Woolf: Mrs. Dalloway
  • Emily Bronte: Wuthering Heights
  • Charlotte Bronte: Jane Eyre
  • Charles Dickens: Oliver Twist
  • Henry James: The Portrait of a Lady
  • John Kennedy Toole: A Confederacy of Dunces
  • Johann Wolfgang von Goethe: The Sorrows of Young Werther
  • Leo Tolstoy: Anna Karenina
  • Oscar Wilde: The Importance of Being Earnest
  • Doris Lessing: The Golden Notebook
  • Doris Lessing: The Grass is Singing
  • Mary Anne Evans a.k.a George Elliot: Middlemarch
  • Nancy Midfort: The Pursuit of Love
  • Honoré de Balzac: Old Goriot
  • Honoré de Balzac: The Black Sheep
  • Herman Hesse: The Glass Bead Game
  • JD Salinger: The Catcher in the Rye
  • F Scott Fitzgerald: The Great Gatsby
  • Chinua Achebe: Things Fall Apart
  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: Half of a Yellow Sun
  • JM Coetze: Disgrace
  • Gustave Flaubert: Madame Bovary
  • George Orwell: 1984
  • Benjamin Disraeli: Sybil
The longer I spend on this list, the more authors and books I feel compelled to add to it.
Come to think of it: Looking at it now, one thing becomes more and more obvious: the truth, power and influence of my name.. I am indeed a true Victoria(n) lol (go figure).. Accept it or not- no such thing as coincidence! 🙂
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kayshawy says:

    Can’t figure! Tell me!

    Great collection you’ve got here though! Fantastic! I covet this *wink*

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Lol, sorry.

      Let me explain (a tiny winy bit):

      I am a “true Victoria(n) indeed” referrs to the fact that:

      1.) 90% of all these books were written during the Victorian era (late 19th century- early 20th century)

      2.) Romanticism (although a bit before this era) is still very contemporary to me *sighs*. My views and values in regards to romance have not much changed.

      3.) Style/fashion-wise, I covet all things “old and classic “; i.e. long leather riding boots (equestrian), all things conservative and co.

      ..and of course, last but very much NOT least:

      4.) My name indeed is Victoria (Olayinka Victoria Makinwa)

      🙂

  2. Tyo says:

    All my favourite books on this list.
    You go, girl!

    In addittion:
    – Rites of Passage by William Golding
    – Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
    – Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Brave New World- I am guilty!!
      I am ashamed to admit I still haven’t read that book

      *covers face*

feel free to say something..

