Recommended: African Writers & Novels

After having just recently read and purchased a few of Buchi Emecheta’s books, I am particularly pleased to share some of my beloved African writers with you. I am encouraging you to treat yourself to at least one of these on a monthly basis, starting January 2012. Won’t you be glad to look back around this time last year, with at least 12 African books on your “Reading List”? I don’t know about you, but I’d be more than pleased with myself. 😉

I will do so too, sharing excerpts from books I have already read and/or will read during 2012.

Chinua Achebe (Nigeria) 

  • Arrow of God
  • Things Fall Apart
  • No Longer At Lease
  • A Man of the People
  • Anthills of the Savannah
Buchi Emecheta (Nigeria)
  • The Bride Price
  • Second Class Citizen
  • The Joys of Motherhood
  • The Family
  • Kehinde
  • The New Tribe
  • Head Above Water

Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe)

  • Nervous Conditions

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)

  • Half of a Yellow Sun
  • The Thing Around Your Neck
  • Purple Hibiscus
J. M. Coetzee (South Africa)
  • Disgrace

Elechi Amadi (Nigeria)

  • The Concubine
  • The Great Ponds
  • The Woman of Calabar
  • Enstrangement

Ben Okri (Nigeria)

  • Starbook
  • Dangerous Love
  • The Famished Road
  • Astonishing the Gods
  • Songs of Enchantment

Doris Lessing (South Africa)

  • The Grass is Singing
8 Comments Add yours

  1. ficfaq says:

    Thank you for this. Other then Ben Okri & Doris Lessing, I have to admit, I haven’t read the other writers. I will, now.

  2. DeMorrieaux says:

    Glad
    to have inspired you ;). I’d generally say if you haven’t read “Things
    fall apart” yet, it must be the first one to read. After that, “Half of
    a yellow sun”. Thereafter you are free to pick and choose as you like
    😀 haha

  3. Cassie says:

    Thanks for this list. It’s time for me to step out of my literary comfort zone. I’m excited to start some of these. I just really hated Things Fall Apart so maybe I’ll start further down the list. It was just so darn depressing.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      I think I am right when I say Chimamanda’s work is a bit more uplifting, as it inspires quite a bit of hope. So maybe you should start with one of her books 🙂

      (Half of a Yellow Sun. The end really does bring it all together.. beautifully, if I may add)

      1. Anonymous says:

        lies its all up in the air

  4. Anonymous says:

    you’re definitely right. but i must “forewarn” you that most of the writers and novels listed are all rather “serious” with some of their work bordering on everything but humour or wit (other than that referring to traditions and cultural differences/change). unfortunately most published african writers have not yet stepped out of that “zone”.

  5. Tyo says:

    Dearest Pinkus,

    Is there a Part 2 coming?
    Ou est Alan Paton? Have you so soon forgotten your fav book?
    Non, non, non.. You must write another list.
    This one is incomplete.

  6. DeMorrieaux says:

    Anonymous: very true. Been trying hard (without success thus far) to find some humorous African writers…

    Tyo: I know.. Cry the Beloved Country was initially on the list (as were a few others).. I decided to shorten it,however, and then- with time- make a second list. So you see, I agree: this list is incomplete 🙂

feel free to say something..

