(That (Something) Else)

One would have thought I’d jump at it;
at the question,
the opportunity,
the asker,
him.

But I didn’t,
I couldn’t.
I was shocked,
gob-smacked,
dumbfounded.

I really did not see it coming.
I had hoped for it, yes.
Had longed for it,
prayed for it,
desired it.

But now that he asked,
I didn’t know.
I wasn’t too sure anymore.

He stood surprised;
had not anticipated this reaction.
He too thought I’d jump at it.
Was it not what I had always wanted,
what I had looked forward to all the years?
My dedication and commitment finally acknowledged?
Our relationship paying off?

We were both surprised.
I did not seem too struck by his offer,
his request.
My indecisiveness once again getting in the way.
Or maybe it was just me having finally decided.
And so I said “No.”

My No was a firm one;
coming out stronger than I had intended.
It was good that way.
No room for consideration.
Negotiation.
Persuasion.

I said No to a new title,
a promotion.
I said No to the job that would take me away.
Away to the city I had always wanted to live in.
I boldly said No to it all.

I said No because there was something I needed more.
Something else I wanted to be asked and say Yes to.

.. that something was YOU.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. 0latoxic says:

    Me? Awww, I’m blushing… :$

      1. DeMorrieaux says:

        lol! leave him jo.. I have enough love for all 😉

        1. 0latoxic says:

          I’m sorry, I don’t share. Especially not with this punk. All the best to you two… ( ˘͡- ˘͡)

          1. DeMorrieaux says:

            LOL!

            fake jealousy.. Wonders shall never end.. *sighs*

  2. DeMorrieaux says:

    hahaha.. if it makes you happy :p

  3. Kayshawy says:

    Yinkus this mood you’re in though….hmmmn!
    Love and plenty mushiness…..

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Hahahahaha.. mushiness?? LOL

      Oh well.. guess love is still in the air.. somewhere :p

feel free to say something..

