In Threes and in Fours

I watched them intrigued,
all those little ones;
walking together,
in threes and in fours.

Not laughing or smiling,
not arguing or fighting;
but simply together,
in threes and in fours.

They were toiling and sweating,
labouring and panting,
for a life together,
in threes and in fours.

They relied on each other,
knew they needed one another;
and so they joined hands together,
in threes and in fours.

I could feel their eyes penetrating,
and so I lowered my gaze.
I could hear their mocking laughter
while I stood there, thinking.

For a minute I felt weak,
for a second outnumbered.
Judged by those
who were all one.

But I
I stood out as being different
in looks, in behaviour,
in needs and in deeds.
I stood out,
a grasshopper.

And so I laughed,
at the thought of being judged
by anonymousity;
a group of people
who knew not themselves.

I’d rather just be me.
Not particularly pretty or clean
and maybe not in threes or in fours,
but at least with identity.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumbo says:

    Hhhhhhmmmmm……………. A sad image. I like d ending – d strength being derived from oneself as opposed to it coming from other people.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Yup, that’s the quintessence.
      Thank you!

  2. 0latoxic says:

    It’s funny how the first half gave me an entirely different vibe from what the end would bring. I saw a picture embodying innocence. A cute group of three or four early primary school children walking along a dusty road content in the sharing of each others’ company. Individual personalities yet undeveloped and as such, one in spirit…

    …And then came their mocking laughter…

    🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Nice picture you had there!
      I had a million and one different endings but settled for something simple.
      Glad the ending took you by surprise lol 🙂

  3. Tyo says:

    I like! So sad and so true.
    I thought it would end differently too.

    My favourite part:
    “by anonymousity; a group of people who knew not themselves”

    Smart play with words.. 🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      *side-eye*
      Was the rhyme intentional?
      Hehe.. thanks! x

  4. kayshawy says:

    I could feel theirs eyes penetrating,……errrrr #okbye

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Hahaha.. thanks.
      I actually just swapped those 4 lines, must have erred while copying and pasting..
      🙂

    2. DeMorrieaux says:

      Gbagaun-detector toh bahd!! Haha

      1. kayshawy says:

        That’s why you love me you know….

        1. DeMorrieaux says:

          Nope. I don’t (know or love you for this reason) lol.
          Actually, I just love you for YOU!

          (˘⌣˘)ε˘`)

  5. dudubeauty says:

    I’d rather just be me.
    Not particularly pretty or clean
    and maybe not in threes or in fours,
    but at least with identity.
    _______________________

    THIS!!!!!!!!…..Nice poem. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Aww.. you are far too kind. Thank you!

  6. kay_sha1na says:

    Reblogged this on kayshawy and commented:
    I’d rather just be me…..with an identity of course. Yimu at detractors jare!!!!

  7. habs says:

    Sounds like you had an isolating childhood experience! Lol. Nice poem sha.

feel free to say something..

