Olowo Ori Mi

Touching my soul
without the use of his hands;
He had the ability to make me feel
without putting in much effort.

In his presence,
my emotions were all over the place,
yet centered.
They were all about him.

I adored his features.

Completely unconscious,
as though out of reflex,
I stretched my arm.
I wanted to stroke..
something.

He drew closer;
making it easier for me
to reach
his beard:

A lion’s mane.

We both smiled.

Kissing my forehead,
he called me
Olowo Ori Mi:
The crown of my head“;
thus exalting me
above the mane
I had so adored.

I blushed,
embarrassed.
And there were people
wondering why
I loved my father so much.

Tell me,
how could I not?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumbo says:

    Aaaaaawww. Love it. Tooo sweet!

  2. 0latoxic says:

    Aslan?…

    #OkBye

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      0_o What does that mean?

  3. DeMorrieaux says:

    (facepalm)

    The Lion King…

    ( ._.)

    1. 0latoxic says:

      No. Not Simba. Narnia. Please, palm your face again. Odikwa necessary… ( ˘͡- ˘͡)

      1. DeMorrieaux says:

        ( ._.)
        or I just delete that comment… ( ._.)

  4. Ileriayo says:

    ha! why naw, thought it was me till it said dad..was about to tell u I’m beardless lol

  5. Ileriayo says:

    Nice one though, I like.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I wish I had this kinda rlationship with my dad and vice versa.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Oh, how I wish you weren’t anonymous.
      It’s never too late to work on improving an important relationship 🙂

  7. Ayob Alariwo says:

    Wow… my popc wee read, smile..shrug n say ‘go n bring my food jor” loool Nice post…

feel free to say something..

