The Evolutionary Hymn- C. S. Lewis

Lead us, Evolution, lead us
Up the future’s endless stair;
Chop us, change us, prod us, weed us.
For stagnation is despair:
Groping, guessing, yet progressing,
Lead us nobody knows where.

Wrong or justice, joy or sorrow,
In the present what are they
while there’s always jam-tomorrow,
While we tread the onward way?
Never knowing where we’re going,
We can never go astray.

To whatever variation
Our posterity may turn
Hairy, squashy, or crustacean,
Bulbous-eyed or square of stern,
Tusked or toothless, mild or ruthless,T
owards that unknown god we yearn.

Ask not if it’s god or devil,
Brethren, lest your words imply
Static norms of good and evil
(As in Plato) throned on high;
Such scholastic, inelastic,
Abstract yardsticks we deny.

Far too long have sages vainly
Glossed great Nature’s simple text;
He who runs can read it plainly,’
Goodness = what comes next.’
By evolving, Life is solving
All the questions we perplexed.

Oh then! Value means survival-
Value. If our progeny
Spreads and spawns and licks each rival,
That will prove its deity
(Far from pleasant, by our present,
Standards, though it may well be)

18 Comments Add yours

  1. dudubeauty says:

    C.S Lewis is my favorite author!

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      I adore him too!
      Just purchased a few of his books again this week.
      Yay!

      1. dudubeauty says:

        what books did you buy? I have read a lot of his books and at present i’m re-reading chronicles of Narnia. Have you read “The great divorce”?…Sorry for all the questions..I just get excited about C.S Lewis Writings πŸ™‚

        1. DeMorrieaux says:

          Hahaha.. I was contemplating on getting that book too.. Maybe with my next purchase.
          I got:
          1. The Screwtape Letters
          2. Four Loves, and
          3. Mere Christianity

          Books I’m planning to buy next are
          – The great divorce and
          – The problem of pain

          Which ones do you recommend?
          I have to (shamefully) admit not to have read The Chronicles yet.. saw the movie ( ._.)
          *covers face in utter shame*

          Who else do you love to read?
          Many questions right back atcha!! Hahaha πŸ˜€

          1. dudubeauty says:

            hahahhaha…I accept the questions. Girl, I recommend

            The great divorce
            Grief observed
            The Abolition of man
            And of course Chronicles of Narnia!

            They are amazing. I must confess though, I have not read “The four Loves”…maybe I will go buy it. I don’t know what happened to me growing up but I love fantasy Fiction …Hence, my love for Chronicles of Narnia and J.R.R Tolkien’s Lord of the rings.

            Ok, when it comes to C.S Lewis do you prefer his fiction or just his writings?

            Other Authors:
            Taylor Caldwell’s Dynasty of Death
            Wendy Alec’s Chronicles of Brothers
            Francine Rivers (I’m sure you have read her books though) She has a New Trilogy…

            Most of these people, are fiction writers though :/
            Ok, Now over to you…who else do you read?

            1. DeMorrieaux says:

              I am not much of a fantasy-fiction person.. at all! I actually quite dislike it, as I cannot relate to it. When I choose books, I want to be able to take something away. I know there are lessons in everything, but I guess the fact that I naturally have my head in the clouds and am too much of an idealist/dreamer, I need to balance it out with something a bit more down-to-earth…

              I generally prefer reading about people’s ideas..
              Most of the (Christian) authors I read, hence , are:
              – John C. Maxwell
              – Myles Munroe and
              – C. S. Lewis (non fantasy though lol)

              When it comes to novels, I’m such a Victorian reader!! *brapppppp!!!*
              I love me some romantic literature..
              – Jane Austen
              – Bronte (sisters; especially Emily)
              – Virginia Woolf
              – William Thackeray
              – James Joyce
              – Henry James
              – Charles Dickens
              – George Eliot
              – Oscar Wilde

              ..and YES!! I absolutely loveeeeeeeeee Francine Rivers. Cannot get enough of her!! What new chronicles? Pray, tell.. Must buy! πŸ˜€

              *sob.sob.sob* I just love books! ( ._.)

  2. dudubeauty says:

    I love Fantasy Fiction…Anything that takes me away from this present world….. I will read. I even like historical/ Victorian books. I am such a realist and it gets depressing sometimes. So, I indulge in a mild form of escapism. That is where fantasy books come into play for me.

    Books with strong symbolism make my heart pound! And this is where C.S Lewis’s Fiction win!

    I have read two books by Myles Monroe:
    *God’s Big Idea
    *Understanding the purpose and power of Woman
    They are great books.

    When it comes to Christian authors I mostly read stuff from John Piper, Charles Spurgeon and the likes.

    The only romance books I can stomach are probably by Francine Rivers and a couple others.Romance Novels sometimes leave a bad taste in my mouth..lol..maybe because I was addicted to them as a Teenager and it screwed up my perspective on love *long Story*

    I will however, check out some of the authors you suggested…I love finding new Authors…Thanks

    Happy Easter my dear.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Happy Ester to you too!

      Hope you’re enjoying this season as much as you should! πŸ™‚

      Hehehe..we’re doing exactly the same thing with our book choices- just the other way round. At the end of the day, it’s all about maintaining some (internal) balance I guess. It is good that way!

      I’ve heard of John Piper, but am yet to read any of his books. I will, however, take pain to purchase The Chronicles of N asap.. long over-due.
      Feel free to recommend more books, as times goes on.. who knows, we might just start a Virtual Bookclub. Hahaha πŸ˜€ That would be great fun!

      1. dudubeauty says:

        Yeah, I love this season and at other times I hate it lol…I continue to strive to keep my eyes on Christ. You are absolutely right it is all about maintaining an inner balance..true words my friend….true words.

        OMG…Don’t get me excited! That will be so fun πŸ™‚ if we started a virtual book club!

        God used John Pipers Sermons and books tremendously in my life. If you ever decide to pick up a book by him Please look into

        * Meditation of a christian Hedonist
        * Don’t waste your life
        awesome books!

        1. DeMorrieaux says:

          Ohh.. I’m so excited!
          Just gone ahead to order the Chronicles of Narnia Boxset and “Don’t Waste Your Life”

          Haha.. *dancing*

          I just have sooo much catching up to do.. There are at least 30 books I’ve bought but not yet finished/started reading.. I so need to CALM DOWN! lol

          We should SO start this bookclub!
          I really think we should..it would be VERY interesting, as we love reading different kinds of books (genres). It would offer the necessary variety.
          We could read and discuss Christ/God, fantasy, fiction, romance.. oOoh.. we could do whatever we liked! LOL πŸ˜€

          1. dudubeauty says:

            LOL…Story of my life…hehehheheh

          2. dudubeauty says:

            I am so down for this idea!!! So how do we start????

            1. DeMorrieaux says:

              Let’s each compile a list of genres and related books we’d like to discuss.
              Having done that, we’ll then come up with a “schedule/plan” on how to work them into our book club.
              Following this, we’ll open another blog here on wordpress and announce it on both of ours (chuckles), encouraging our individual followers and other literature-friends to sign up/follow and participate.
              I already have 3 more people in mind who’d gladly join our book-club. It’ll be so much fun, as we are spread all around the world, with different experiences and point of views.. So much to share, learn!
              Oh.. I’m excited!!
              Give me your email addy!! πŸ™‚

              (mine is olayinka.victoria@hotmail.com)

              1. dudubeauty says:

                YAY!!!! Ok…Sounds Like and awesome plan….Totally game πŸ™‚

              2. dudubeauty says:

                My email addy is* dudubeauty27@gmail.com*….this is awesome!

                1. DeMorrieaux says:

                  Emaileddddddd πŸ™‚

                2. dudubeauty says:

                  Hey hon…didn’t get it 😦 try sending it again?

  3. habs says:

    … scrolling down to comment was long! You both needed a chatroom. lol. Okay I better leave this blog and stop terrorizing. B.T.W this poem is very too scholaristic for a level such as mine. lol

feel free to say something..

