Yourself In Him

He called me to his room.
The stern look on his face made me feel anxious.

Listen child,
there is something I want to share with you today.
It isn’t much, but it is all I have.
Be sure to always remember.

I sat down and listened attentively,
nervously moving my legs like a child about to be scolded.
*** 

The Bible,
a pearl cast before swine;
few appreciate it.

The Bible,
a gift so costly;
few see its true worth.

The Bible,
its treasure great in number,
few take time to discover it.

The Bible,
piercing and powerful,
speaks wisdom quietly,
almost inaudibly;
few take note of it.

Scarcely does anyone listen,
pause to heed its advice.

You must be like The Holy Book,
a story written in blood.

Most of the people you’ll come across in life
will not appreciate you.

But let this not bother you.

They well come and abuse you,
misuse you,
seek to destroy you.

But let them not defeat you.

You are a treasure chest;
life is a journey,
make sure to discover your worth.

Greatness resides within.

The Bible,
is its very own identity.
Therein is found what we call
true integrity.

You have been fearfully and wonderfully crafted.
Find yourself, and when you have,
remain true to it.

***

And I smiled.
For the first time in my life I felt loved..
by him.

Receiving power and strength;
A glimpse of the love I had always been denied..
by my father.

He kissed me as he breathed his last.

Maybe I would grieve afterall.
***

These same words I speak to you today,
Akobi.

The greatest inheritance I shall leave behind
is this revelation:
Above all, to thine own self be true.
Especially when no one else loves or appreciates you. 

The greatest treasure you will ever discover in this journey of life
is yourself in Him.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. dudubeauty says:

    Wow! Very true, I really love this girl 🙂

    “Most of the people you’ll come across in life
    will not appreciate you.

    But let this not bother you.

    They well come and abuse you,
    misuse you,
    seek to destroy you.

    But let them not defeat you.

    You are a treasure chest;
    life is a journey,
    make sure to discover your worth.

    Greatness resides within.”

    The above blew me away…

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Awww.. thank you! 🙂

  2. mybroom says:

    I like the way you think !! Graeme

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      *blushes* Thank you!

feel free to say something..

