Like A River

I watched with bewilderment
Childlike amusement

The people
The chatter
The laughter
The flatter

The stream
Its flow
Where would it go?

Changing scenes.

I watched with confusion
Yet another intrusion
Oh, did she not know?

New surroundings.
Too much noise
Not enough order
Yet another overstepped border?

It was all happening too fast
Surely, he would not let this last!

Promises forgotten.

She stepped closer
How could he not consider me?
Remembering his muscular arms
It was in them I longed to be. 

An unborn child.

But he pushed us aside
He sneered and he hissed
He laughed and he kissed
Her

I was dismissed. 

Excruciating pain
We were determined not to cling.
A new family forgotten
For the sake of a ring.

Drinking from another's well?
Reaping where we had not sown?
Someone else's treat?

True, stolen waters were sweet. 

The questioning, the doubting
The outing, the shouting

How far would she go?

The pushing, the fall
The hitting, the sprawl. 

A broken neck.

But this time
For the sake of my mother
I too would not bother.

My life on the kitchen floor
Blood flowing like a river
Me, she would not deliver. 

***
14 Comments Add yours

  1. Deji says:

    Why do all your heroines end up committing suicide?

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      No, this was no suicide..

      1. Deji says:

        Okay. I get it now. But why so dark though?
        I’m worried about you. Your state of mind.
        Are you okay?

  2. EC says:

    Why always so dark???

  3. DeMorrieaux says:

    Deji and EC,

    Why “always” though? Lol
    I write many pretty, beautiful, lovey-dovey posts too..
    There’s just need for balance, me thinks.
    Life is not always beautiful. Such things happen..

    ( ._.)

  4. TEE says:

    It is not dark , this is life I guess life is dark. Pinkus tell them jare, life it is not a fantasy!!!

  5. 0latoxic says:

    Laughing here at all the concern people are showing. I can relate sha. Been there, done that. Now, I just appreciate the beautiful art for what it is.

    There’s this thing about when you write in this format that I love. I read it the first time trying to figure out exactly what is going on, only barely comprehending when I arrive the end. Then I read it a second time and a sweet smile spreads across my face from full realisation…

    🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Hahaha.. Don’t mind them *yimu*

      Thanks! Yea, I think unless one reads it twice, there’s no chance of fully getting it. Oh well, could be worse 🙂

      Thank you, Toxy! *bear hug*

  6. N says:

    Geee…awesomely written my dear yinks. 🙂 Keep it coming! Love from the Philippines.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Haha.. Thanks, Nina!
      How have you been?
      You’re back in the Philippines? Why? Since when.
      We so need to skype!!
      Miss you, dear *hug*

      1. N says:

        Missy. For 3 months now but im heading back to Cph in a week. 🙂
        Im doing great. Sorry not been online on skype. Just enjoying my time here at home. Yes, ill go on skype soon and ill update you things. I miss you too. hugsss

  7. rachel says:

    Confused and sad at the same time. Errrmm let me read again 😐

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Yup, unless one reads it twice, it won’t be clear 🙂

feel free to say something..

