Understanding Psalm 23

I just received an email by Lade asking if I could share this on my blog. Of course I can! I am very glad and pleased to.

***

It’s amazing how we never see what is right in front of us.

It’s also amazing how we just read our Bibles and know memory verses but don’t take time out to understand what we have read.

Everybody knows Psalm 23. I’ve been reciting that psalm since I was in primary school. I only began to understand it recently.

I was reading the ‘Psalms & Proverbs in 30 days‘ plan on my bible app and I got to Psalm 23. So I decided to read it and not just recite it. I’m reading it and then I begin to understand the meaning of those words.

Vs 1: The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want (KJV). NIV says: The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing. This means I [will] have everything I need.

Vs 2 & 3:  He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for His name’s sake. (NIV) He will give me peace. He will lead me to the right places. I will get to where He wants me. He will help me do the right things.

Vs 4:  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. (KJV) Even when I get into trouble, When I’m ever in a bad situation, when I face trials and tribulations, I will not be afraid because He is with me. I find comfort and stability in His discipline.

Vs 5 & 6: Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever. (KJV) I will not be put to shame. My enemies will not laugh at me. I will be lifted up above those who hate me. I am anointed by God; hence no harm shall befall me. His love, goodness, mercy and favour shall follow me everywhere I go and everyday of my life and I will be in His house/presence always.

***

Amen!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. DeMorrieaux says:

    I think there is so much to be gained from this Psalm.

    From vs. 4 in particular:
    We often think that (seeing as we are children of God) no evil will, or indeed shall, befall us. But this verse talks of the opposite: we WILL go through difficult times. Seasons of little, of lack, of hurt, disappointment and pain, YET He is with us. In these seasons we will experience Him as our COMFORTER. Unless one is hurting, one has no need of one. He is telling us that we will surely have to go through such seasons.. but we are only going THROUGH them; they are neither dwelling place nor destination.. but a phase! And even in those times, He is with us.
    We often feel forsaken, forgotten.. by man and God too. This verse should give us peace, knowing that in both good and bad times, the Lord is with us. Experiencing Him as our comforter is an important part of our Christian walk. It’s not always going to be wonderful, sometimes the buds do not blossom, sometimes there are no fruit on the trees, but that doesn’t stop Him from being God in and of our lives.

    Verse 3 (sometimes I enjoy reading chapters backwards) tells us, however, that there are going to be wonderful seasons too. “Green seasons”.. times when things are wonderful, where there is growth, the enjoyment of the harvest our labour and/or his favour have brought us.

    There is a time and season for everything!

    Thanks for the reminder, Lade 🙂

  2. shOmami says:

    Hey vic,

    this is soooo spooky.
    I broke down psalm 23 at last wednesday’s timothy night. (see brackets)

    1 The Lord is my shepherd (He guides), I lack nothing (He provides)
    2 He makes me lie down in green pastures, (He gives rest), he leads me beside quiet waters, (He leads)
    3 he refreshes my soul (He refreshes, restores) He guides me along the right paths (He instructs) for his name’s sake.
    4 Even though I walk through the darkest valley, (He permits unpleasant situations)[a] I will fear no evil, (has given us boldness) for you are with me; (ever present help) your rod (Hebrew – shebet; for fighting, punishing, walking, ruling) and your staff (signifies power), they comfort me (Comforter).
    5 You prepare a table before me (a host) in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil (He anoints), my cup overflows (He gives surplus)
    6 Surely your goodness (He is good) and love (He loves/ is merciful) will follow me all the days of my life (life-long commitment), and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

    The spirit is one 🙂

feel free to say something..

