Behind The Scenes

What actually meets the eyes is always just a fraction of what really happens.. behind the scenes!

We enjoy watching movies in cinemas; they are usually 90mins long, and we are often ignorant of how stressful the making of the movie must have been. We care little about its production, the recruiting of the cast, sound, motion pictures, lightning, sequence, composition, etc. We watch the movie and either like it or not; who cares about how much it took (in money, labour, time, dedication) to come up with the finished product. And for those few who do care, there is (most often, anyway) a 20-mins Behind The Scenes-clip they can watch.

As Christians we fully (or at least are supposed to) know that there is a very real unseen (spiritual) world. Although the purpose of this post is hardly to give you an insight into the spirit realm (I couldn’t even if I wanted to, I’m afraid, as its dimensions have not yet been unveiled to me), but I’ll share something profound with you anyway.

A little testimony! A clear display of how God does work behind the scenes..still! Just when we tend to feel forgotten, He shows up to tell the world “I never forget My own..

* * *

Most of you would know I moved back to Vienna- after having spent about 5 years in various places, but mainly London- around this time last year. Before moving back I’d been busy job-searching for well over a year and a half, and well, after the move that search naturally had to continue  I did a few courses and, not wanting to see me waste my time, was encouraged by my parents to go back to uni. I did not. Not because I’m a rebellious child, but because I had spent much time thinking and praying about it, I knew, although I love academia, it wasn’t where I should be at the time. I would work!

And so, in March 2012 I continued sending out applications for numerous jobs and positions.. Vienna, Zurich, Brussels, Geneva; in a nutshell, almost everywhere but London..well, and Lagos. Until one day I came across a company I thought I’d like to work at, and so I sent them an email/ application. Although there was no advertised job vacancy, I strongly believed that anything was possible, if only He said yes! Having applied, confirmed and re-confirmed they had received my writing, I was first considered but eventually learnt the position was given to a local candidate. Was it really possible a more suitable candidate had been found? I was heart-broken. I really wanted this job!

I applied for a few jobs here and there but decided not to worry too much; confident something perfect would come up eventually. With wedding preparations and trips here and there, I was well distracted. That was, until I felt the Spirit say Try again! I instinctively knew what He meant, and summoned all courage to believe.
That very same day, during one of the Wednesday service at House on The Rock, London, it was the beginning of September, Pastor Christ was giving a very motivational sermon in which he too forcefully encouraged us to Go back and apply again! Coincidence or not (I do not believe in such anyway), I took it as a very personal invitation and confirmation: Yes, I would try again! And so I did.

Reading the email I sent them, most of you would read great self-marketing, overtly confident and sure of herself etc. out of it. I had been selling myself way below value. This time I would make sure they saw and understood and believed they needed me at least as much as I wanted them. It worked! I was invited for a job interview. I told them when I would be around, and the date was fixed!

Flying to Lagos (on my birthday, Sept 28) I was more than excited. Gbolahan received me with so much love and my sister was just about to land too, the main thing on my mind was getting past the weekend and finding favour as I went for the job interview just a few days later. The interview lasted for well over 2 hours!
After getting to know some of the staff, I was faced with written examinations, a French text to translate, and a few marketing strategies to come up with. Was I surprised, shocked, nervous? Not at all.. I was about to walk away and give up! What’s the point of trying when there’s no chance of passing? I hadn’t spoken/written/read French in years, did not know much about marketing strategies and even less about creating complex charts on Ms Excel. But what I did know, was that I had quite an overdose of common sense and an even greater one of The Spirit within me. I had waited and prayed and hoped for this opportunity for too long a time, I’d not let a pinch of fear get the best of me. No, not now! And so I gave my best and completed all the tasks. They were more than impressed! I was quite shocked at just how impressed they were. Was this flattery? I had to put it down to His grace and favour. It couldn’t have been anything else.

Anyway, the important question was, would I eventually get the job? Nope! No, I did not! And I was as heart-broken as ever. Maybe this was a sign. Maybe I wasn’t ready to move to Lagos just yet. Maybe I got this interview to encourage me; after-all, it had been ages since I was even invited for an interview. At least things were moving in the right direction. At the appointed time I would get that job, and I’d be glad I didn’t get this one. These were the words I used to encourage myself. What else was there to do but to declare It is well?

I told my family the sad news, was encouraged, and decided to not just bother the Lord too much. I had joined the choir a month prior to my trip and decided that for now, I’d take singing seriously. I’d sing as though I wanted to be in the choir and make sure that my worship was sincere. It took but a few weeks for me to see just why He had commissioned me to be there, and I started enjoying every second of it.

In November, you’ll remember my posts You Own Shall Be Next and Time to shO(w)dem, great things started happening! Frances was proposed to, Sola married, and Sola finally got an amazing job too! God was doing things! And because I have come to gain a small insight into times and seasons, I understood that goodness had finally reached my home. There are times you put in so much effort into one thing but nothing happens, while there are other times when you try so little, yet everything seems to be working out. I knew that this was our season and so I greatly rejoiced over everything He was doing both in my family and in the lives of the people around me. Feeling encouraged, I started applying for different jobs again. This time, however, I’d focus on cities with a high living standard, jobs that offered maximum pay, and a location that would allow me to finally have and enjoy my beloved Siberian Husky and Bernese Mountain Dog. These three I would not comprise on. Not if I could have my way.

Having applied for an absolutely amazing job in Geneva, a family friend showed up out of nowhere, encouraging me to apply for a job (I really did not want!!) here in Vienna. He told my parents about it too. Although I promised to apply for it, I prayed I would not get it. If my parents hadn’t pushed and annoyed me that much, I would probably have given it many many days until I applied. Why? Well, this was not what I had been waiting for! Needless to say, the next couple of hours where filled with an internal battle and many tears. Lord, is this what You have in store for me? Like, seriously? I’m applying to fulfil all righteousness here, but I’ll be so upset if I really get this job.
Do I sound like I was complaining? I don’t know.. All I know is that I had both applied for a job I really wanted and one I absolutely did not. God knew best, He’d not disappoint.

And so, just a few days ago as I woke up, I saw a missed call. Unusual number; strange indeed! Before I could check my other phone to see if it was one of those numbers I hadn’t saved on this mobile, my phone rang again. The same number! Who could this be?

And there she was.. the lady from the that very company in Lagos, telling me there was another vacancy starting January 2013. She told me that they had been trying to contact me over a week, calling and emailing me, but were surprised I hadn’t responded to any of their attempts of getting in touch. I was dumbfounded. I had neither seen calls nor emails. For over a week, she said? That was strange! Prince of Persia..
And so she asked me if I still wanted to work for them; if I was still willing to relocate; if I wanted the job. And on all three counts I said YES!

And so it happened that, while I was crying and worrying and trusting and hoping for numerous jobs, it was the one I had been wanting since the beginning of the year I eventually got. God had been working behind the scenes!

Most often we feel as though life deals harshly with us, unfairly, as though we suffer more than we enjoy. Truth is, if you hang in just long enough, the story changes. Times and seasons happen to us all. And now, after well over three years, Pinkus is turning a new page.. doing a new job.. in a new country. And she is excited!
Of course not everything has been sorted our or arranged yet. Of course there are concerns and many uncertainties, but above all that there is this strong conviction, belief and trust that God’s hand is in all this; so why worry? With all the things that still need to be worked out, I know He is working behind the scenes for my good and His glory too!

Usually, just because we can’t see it, doesn’t mean there’s nothing happening..

18 Comments Add yours

  1. kovieparker says:

    Congratulations hun!!!!!!! I feel like there’s a message here for me. Bless!

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Thank you!
      Glad you got something out of this 🙂

  2. rachelle says:

    Congrats… To think that I didn’t want to read this post(you didn’t reply me) 😦 , but I did anyway, and I’m glad I did, I think I can smile now, no matter how I feel, I know God is at behind the scenes working something out!!

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Lol! You’re a joker.
      I did reply, by the way. Immediately sent you an email 😉

  3. Moses Akinde says:

    Wow! If that’s how much everyone believes in God; take their time, and be hopeful for greater things will happen. Indeed, its happening to you, not a movie, but God’s working behind the scenes.

    That reminds me, after my service year, prior to that time I’ve had where I wanted to work on ma mind. Even when I check their site there’s no vacancy. I still applied all with faith, even when my friends that have got connections and people in the high places were already talking about getting November salary after our NYSC passing out on October 18th, 2012. But, trust God, he’s so working for me behind the scenes, and he single handedly picked where I wanted, went for the interview that eventually turned out to being what God’s planned. Yeah! The pay isn’t what I expected, quite low. But, I’ve always wanted a place like http://www.prowessengineering.com All Thanks to God and ma Boss’s for giving me the opportunity to serve, learn and get me busy gaining better experience. Wow! God’s really behind the scenes… So, I’ll get paid my November salary even after service in October. Thanks for your write up… Inspiring! And, Congratulations… *stumbled upon your blog checking out replies on http://www.ofilispeaks.com cheers.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      All things work together.. in His time.
      Thank you, and thanks for sharing your testimony too!

  4. Anonymous says:

    May God continue to lead u along d path he has set for u so that u shall forever glorify him in all u do my dearest pinkus ..May this be d begining of new things to come in ure life. I feel blessed my fullfilled myself doll.I am gratefull to God from my inner most being. Congratulation dear.XoXo

    1. Anonymous says:

      Its labala dear. *tongue out*

      1. DeMorrieaux says:

        Lol, of course I know it’s you.. You’re the only person that calls me “doll”!

        :p

  5. Uche says:

    Hey dear, beautiful post. Makes me remember when I was looking for my first job. Went similar to yours. God does work behind the scenes, as long as we believe.
    By the way, could I get your email address again?

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      He does indeed.
      Emailed you alreadyyyy

  6. Belles Pomme says:

    May God be Praised!!
    He will give you the fortitude to overcome every single challenge that comes your way, He will bless you and crown all your efforts in Jesus name.

    He that started a good work in you shall carry it on to completion until the day of Jesus Christ

    You are Blessed.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Amen! Thank you 🙂

  7. 0latoxic says:

    Woo Hoo! Pinkus is coming home!!

    I’m happy for you dearie. Everything will come to fruition and completion in His time. Bless. *hug*

  8. Olajumokemi says:

    Congratulations dearie….am so touchd by ur testimony cos am in a similar situation n Yes my hope is stil firm in God cos I bliv He would give me my testimony job too…tnx fr ur post

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Amen! I’m glad to hear you found encouragement.
      May He lead you, open doors before you, and cause you to find favour even before men.
      I wish you all the best. He’s got you sorted 🙂

  9. Ivy says:

    Congratulationsssss dear. May God continue to enlarge your coast. Please can I have your email address? Thank you.

feel free to say something..

