Visual Aids

It’s so easy to get distracted. I keep saying it. It’s probably the only “message I can now preach” for it holds true for me. So true.

It is so easy to get carried away. To lose ones way.

A little sleep. A little slumber.

They stole my Bible. At the airport or in transit. I really don’t know. All I know is that my Bible was stolen somewhere between Austria-Turkey-Lagos, and I sighed. May it bless the thief.

I wasn’t upset, for I knew I could make use of a different Bible. One of those standard Arial size 4 ones. Those ones that strain your eyes and make sure you read with full concentration. Those ones that really do not encourage you to spend time studying your Bible at all.

Well, I could not even find that!

And so I consoled myself with my Audio Bible.. for now. Until I could find a proper (hard copy) Study Bible. Having tried some bookshops, I resigned myself to the use of my electronic Bible.. for now.

For then.. for it is easy to stumble, stray, to wander, loose one’s way..

A little sleep. A little slumber.
A little folding of the hands.

* * *

Growing up, and watching my mom being so super-protective of every move my baby brother would make, I would to tell her, “Mom, just let him loose. Allow him do his thing. He’s a boy. Let him learn, experience life.” and she would simply say, “Vicky, not all who go will find their way. Some just go and never come back.”

I think I understand her now, many years later, much better than I did then. Not all who wander eventually find their way back. Sometimes we make rash moves, take “calculated” turnings, well aware of possible dangers, but tell ourselves not to worry, that we’ll be okay. But often we don’t return. We can’t. And so we keep moving in the wrong direction. Looking for things in all the wrong places.

We get carried away, distracted. Things become unclear, complicated.
And then, it’s just too much of a hassle to admit we’ve lost our way. To try and find our way back.

Let’s not wander too far.

There is something about visual aids. Visual reminders that keep you focused. A “Helper” just to make sure you don’t loose track, misplace priorities, replace that which is of true importance.

Parents do it with “canes” at times.. well, most African parents do anyway, to instill some fear, to keep you in check. For most it worked, while it only caused others to rebel even more (even if often secretly). And so, in my carnal desire to force some spiritual obedience, I thought about a picture depicting the battle of Armageddon or perhaps the rapture.. Surely those could keep me in check?

Visual reminders of what could be.. and where..

But no, this is not how He works. The Master Himself, though Lamb and Lion, ever faithful ever true, has a force much stronger than fear, that could get me to do His will; following His way. 

His Love.
His Spirit, our Helper.

Nothing else shows it as much as His written and revealed Word.

How can a young man cleanse his way?
By taking heed according to Your word.
With my whole heart I have sought You;
Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
Your word I have hidden in my heart,
That I might not sin against You. (Ps. 119: 9-11)

I don’t know what it is for you, but I’m going to have to get myself a new Bible asap!

One Comment Add yours

  1. @sharon_360 says:

    This is indeed very true. The Lord by His Spirit guides us in all things if only we’d listen. God also gives us warning signs like that gentle prick of one’s conscience, Rhema from a particular scripture, the pastors teaching or even the gentle voice that tells us to watch our step when we are about to veer off track.
    I could give you one of my hard cover bibles tho…
    By the way, i’m still working on ‘hiding’ more of the Word constantly in my heart and carrying it all about!
    God bless!

feel free to say something..

