The Wisdom of The Ages

I love underwear. And even more than that, I love lingerie.
And because I love it, I buy it.. whenever I can.
An unhealthy relationship with money..?

Anyway, so just a few days before moving to Lagos I (naturally) went lingerie-shopping. Upon Returning home, I walked into my parents bedroom,

Daddy, see what I got. (holding up the pieces) Aren’t they lovely?

He nods in agreement.

Ugh, the only thing now is.. Daddy, should I wear them? I’m thinking, maybe I should just keep them until I get married, you know..

He laughs out profusely..

Yinka, let me tell you something. You only live once. Don’t put your life on hold just because you want to wait. Enjoy life now! Husband or no husband, enjoy. Wear your underwear!

My mother calls it,

Yinka, make yourself happy.

These words keep resounding these days. While serving the Lord, while waiting, while working and debating.. be happy. In all you do, make sure you do it with a smile.. Cheerfully!
Life is never perfect, situations could always be better. You have little control over most things; but you do over the one thing that eventually makes all the difference, the one thing that really matters: your attitude.
Trying times, seasons and challenges will come, as nature demands it, they must! But what do you do while going through them?

The Bible has something interesting to say about it too,

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.

Medicine is as much for the healthy, as church is for the holy. We are all in lack & need of something- and yet we have been encouraged to smile, to laugh, to focus on that which is true, holy, and pure (according to His Word).

Today I want to encourage you to do something irrational.. and simply laugh. Laugh out loud at your troubles, and struggles, literally. Laugh at the challenges you are facing. Laugh at the situations refusing to change. Simply laugh. Decide, consciously choose to be cheerful.. regardless of what you’re going through. To believe things will change at the appointed time, but when if and when they refuse to, to be glad anyway. Laughter has a funny way of putting things into perspective. Note that you are not laughing ignorantly. You are not laughing in denial. You are not laughing your troubles away. You are looking at your troubles, telling them “I laugh at you.” You are telling them that right in the midst of them, you choose to be you anyway.

Why? Because laughter is good for your soul. At the end of the day, it’s the one thing that really matters. Not the circumstances, not the trials.. but the state of your soul. Choose to be and live and act whole.

Today, laugh!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Niña Mabuyo says:

    Thanks for the reminder especially at this trying times in my home country. I am encouraged.

    I miss you, friend.

  2. kay_sha1na says:

    Reblogged this on kayshawy and commented:
    A merry heart doeth good like medicine, a broken spirit drieth the bones….

    Laugh and be happy

  3. This is really encouraging. I guess I can at least smile now

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Glad this encouraged you 🙂

  4. Tetra says:

    I’ve found it so difficult to take advice from people.
    My pastor says it’s because I had a very “dysfunctional” relationship with my parents, and I guess he is right.
    However, I am learning.. I am learning to listen and take what people say on board.
    I can be a bit stubborn though. I guess this is one of the reasons I struggle with hearing from God.
    Maybe He speaks to me, I am sure He does. But because my heart’s tough, I guess I hardly hear. Hmmmm

    Once again, thank you for this! Those simple words of encouragement that make a difference. *hug*

  5. annesquared says:

    Good to read – I needed this!

feel free to say something..

