Last Words | Last Deeds

I was just listening to Aaliyah’s tribute song “I miss you” and was forced to experience some rather uncomfortable feelings and entertain some rather worrisome thoughts..

What if I died.. tomorrow?

I’ve never really had a problem with death per se, I’ve simply never really had to deal with it/him/her.
Strange encounters that I have been spared from, so far.The spirit of death is a stranger to me.

At least I like to believe.

I’m what you call blasé when it comes to death.
I have a somewhat romantic imagination of it.
Well, maybe not of death but definitely of grief/ing.
One that includes many sleepless nights and tears, but no pain.
Much regret but no shame.
Many fits and tantrums, I know will be in vain.

I don’t know what it is, but it is altogether weird.

Anyway, so as I was listening to the aforementioned song, I could not help but wonder..

Last Words.

Those things you say in the final moments of your life that remain with those who outlive you forever.

Final Deeds.

Those last things you say.

The last words a father speaks to his child before being shot in the streets.
A wife speaks to her husband before boarding a plane that would crash.
A teacher to her student before she commits suicide.
A brother to his sister before he overdoses.
A girl to her aunt before she jumps off the bridge.

A stranger to another walking past.

Harsh words.

Those last things you do.

But you see, the dead know nothing of regrets for both empathy and decision-making are for the living, the breathing.
And so I thought about those final things said and done by those who remain. Who are forced to deal with the last things said and done to another..

That word that needed not to have been spoken.
That look that needed not to have been given.
That attitude that needed not to have been shown.
That grudge that needed not to have been kept.
That relationship that needed not to have been terminated.

And I asked myself what I would have done differently if I knew the person I did not cherish today would no longer be tomorrow?
What feelings would I rather have caused, what memories created?

What potential future regret could be avoided today?

Of the three things that be, the Bible reminds us that LOVE reigns and rules in the supreme.
On LOVE alone hang all the laws and the prophets.

I guess all I am really saying is let’s love and cherish, forgive and respect, care for and protect each other today.
Right now, at this very present moment. That’s why we are all alike individual parcels of blessings (presents) in the present; to be enjoyed by each other while we are.

For tomorrow might never come..

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful. Thank you. I watched a movie yesterday titled “A Little Bit of a Heaven” and your topic today is what I got out of the movie the most. It hit me hard, and I decided that I better start living like I will die today…which is something that has been said and preached so many times before in my life…I’m just old enough and spiritually mature enough, now, at 52 years old to take it more seriously. Sometimes God has to throw a brick at my head (my fault) to get me to sit up and pay close attention. One brick…the movie. Second brick…your post. I am grateful.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Awww.. that’s nice. Thanks for your beautiful comment!
      We often forget how fleeting life really is. Thank God for gentle reminders. 🙂

  2. Timiebix says:

    This goes hand in hand with my recent thoughts on generations I.e my current hopes, beliefs, fears, etc is what will be passed along to another generation and passed on and on if no one chooses to break the norm.
    I said to myself you need to improve yourself 🙂
    We need to love, respect, forgive be everything now cos it might be a lil bit late when you or the person is gone.
    My mantra for this month; leave everyone you meet with a positive vibe/feeling/outlook/anything you want to call it 🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Most definitely! My general motto has always been to leave people better than I met them.
      If my doing or being is not a blessing, it is a pain.. or even worse, nothing at all.

      It really does take a conscious effort before it becomes second nature.

feel free to say something..

