Pole-Dancing Bridesmaids

After mid-week service last week, our pastor made a somewhat unusual announcement, reminding the ushers of why it was important to constantly be at alert and ward off any potential threats; ie. the distribution of unholy invitations/flyers.
Turns out a group of people thought it fit to hand out “pole dancing classes”-flyers to church folks.

Well, yesterday a small group of friends from church and I decided to give it a try anyway.
We did a lot of stretching, moving, sliding, gliding, grinding, and well, poling. Call us hoes.. *yawn*
I’m definitely no natural but it was lots of fun still!

But more importantly, yesterday, I realized that the Lord had indeed blessed me with wonderful friends.
I have friends I love and cherish outside of Christ, and I have those I am church-friends with.

There is something extremely special about having friends outside of church who are passionate about God too, yet are ready to keep it real and have some “unholy” fun.
There is something extremely special about friends one can share dreams with, start a business with, pray, laugh, and cry with.

There is something special about having friends one can proudly make one’s bridesmaids.
I used to say that I had no need for bridesmaids on my wedding day; but I know better now.

There is something special about having friends one wants to share one’s special day with.
And I am glad to say I do!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. angela says:

    I hate you!

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Hahahaha.. Oops ( ._.)

      Oh dear, I should have thought to tell YOU abourrit!! lol
      We’re going again next week Thurs, 7pm (VI). *bear hug*
      I’ve missed you!!!

  2. Ebun Oluwole says:

    And I’m glad for you.

    I wish I could relate but….it is well. I know God has plans for that too. 🙂

    http://ebunoluwole.com

  3. Timiebix says:

    ” I used to say I have no need of bridesmaids on my wedding day ; but I know better now.”
    I know this too and pray for more beautiful people who keep it real too in my life. I enjoyed reading this!
    The pole dancing flyer in church , I wish I was a fly on the wall at your church, Hehehehe

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Lol, which fly do you want to be again? So unserious..

  4. TLG says:

    Really though. Some nerve you have there. What if your pastors and ushers were passing as you girls were stepping out ? lol . Me I’m a lone ranger sha

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Lol.. ushers ke? We are all workers in church oooh LOL

  5. Mikel Writes says:

    Pole dance ko
    pillar dance ni…
    anyway sha…when will u choose your own bridesmaid for your wedding? I’m almost sure mama is waiting to tie gele. lol 😉

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      At all ooh.
      As a matter of fact my parents even asked me to give them some time.
      One wedding in 2012, another in 2013.
      They begged me to give them some time, and this time.. to have some money of my own!!

  6. kovieparker says:

    I think it’s great to have friends who “keep it real” and are also passionate God-lovers. I wish church folk could be a bit more real. Isn’t that the ‘fellowship with one another’ God wants us to have? I may be wrong…

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      You’re not at all 🙂

feel free to say something..

