Back to Square ONE..?

I remember a conversation I had with a good friend (actually my oldest friend: I’ve known her since I was two years old) a couple of months ago.

She was sharing that she was unsure about what to do with her life now that she felt she knew what she should have done ages ago.
It so happens that her father- with whom she’s had a rather tough relationship with over the years- had encouraged her to become a primary school teacher right after finishing secondary school. He encouraged her to take a teaching course, seeing as she was really passionate about educating children and raising them to become responsible and independent additions to societies. Oh, did I mention her mother was my kindergarten teacher? Yep, it runs in the family!
Anyway, so, seeing as her father so strongly encouraged her to become a primary school teacher, she profusely rejected his suggestion. Who was he to instruct her, after-all?
And so her journey began.. starting and not ending one course, two courses, three courses. We all watched time pass..

And now, here we sat in 2013, five years down the line, and she was crying,

Vicky, the only thing I am really passionate about is little kids. I see what is going on around me, I work with kids four times a week, I see the impact I can make. I see that they need both love and discipline. Freedom to run and play and grow, yet an awareness of boundaries and necessary limits, coupled with appropriate punishments, should limits be broken. I mean, a lot of parents really should not be parents! Most parents think it’s okay to have a disobedient child and just hope it eventually fades away. Responsible children do not just happen. No, it takes work and dedication; and most parents are simply just too lazy. They are no parents at all. I just feel like I have finally realized where I belong, what I can do to make this little world of mine a bit better. But, the problem is: my father will so say, “I told you so!” and I hate it! I hate it that he was right and that I have wasted four years of my life. I hate it that I have to start all over again, when I could have just done it right from the start. Do you know what I mean?

I looked at her smiling,

No. Yes, I do understand what you mean, but I strongly disagree. You see, life is all about timing. Just because he saw your area of passion and gifting before you did, does not mean it was the right time then. Certain things are simply never right until you learn and understand and know for yourself. If you had done it then, out of compulsion, who knows, you might never really have taken ownership of the decision? You would be living your life and doing what you’re doing, resenting the fact that it was forced upon you. Sometimes it is okay to wonder and to wander, to run around, asking questions and looking for answers, just to arrive back at the very beginning.. but this time, to start proper and confidently.
You simply weren’t ready then, but you are now! And it is good that way. You’re not starting at square one at all. You are starting with a sense of purpose and confidence and assurance that this is where you should be. You won’t stop and you won’t quit because now you know the WHY of the WHAT!

These words resounded in my heart a couple of days ago when I decided to take yet another turn. Geeeeez, why didn’t I just do it then? Why did I not listen to my parents? Why now, five years later, am I doing what I could have done/started/finished years ago? What was wrong with me?

Nothing!

God’s perfect timing..

Sometimes it is easier to blame oneself for not having done something in the past, and using the very same regret to stop you from doing something- that very thing- right now.
Sometimes we are more worried about the thoughts and opinions of others, than the potential effect this could have on our very own future and destiny.

The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago. The second best time is now!

..is a saying I want you to keep with you for the rest of the week. Now that you understand the importance of doing it anyway, I want you to know (not think) and be totally persuaded of His promise to make all things work out for your good and to His glory.

I want you to trust and believe that your past weeks, months, years were not wasted; that you have neither failed Him nor yourself, but that you simply needed time to grow, learn, realize certain things for yourself.

The only question that remains is: Now that you know, what will you do?!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Mayowa says:

    Thank you for this. I recently learnt that everything really is for a reason and God atimes allows us wander before finding our footing because he wants us to grow and learn somethings. You were spot on (what you said to your friend).
    http://mateyscott.blogspot.co.uk

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      I’m glad you found some answers in this 🙂

  2. Moses Akinde says:

    The sentence that caught my fancy and attention “Taking ownership of one’s decision” that point in life is what I call the right time. Great story and lesson learnt. Starting now…..

  3. Ebun Oluwole says:

    This resonates with me.

    God bless you.

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      I’m glad it does.. *hug*

  4. Mikel Writes says:

    Bless you sister for this!
    Very encouraging!

feel free to say something..

