#BringBackOurGirls

Of recent I was reminded of a beautifully deep quote,

Do not look upon me, because I am dark,
Because the sun has tanned me.
My mother’s sons were angry with me;
They made me the keeper of the vineyards,
But my own vineyard I have not kept.

How often do we find ourselves busy doing all but the right things?
Misplaced priorities.

How often do we find ourselves fighting other people’s battles.
struggling to keep up appearances,
caring about all but the most important things?
The things that really matter.

We get so busy chasing the wrong(s), someone cleverly steps in and snatches away our right(s).

When a friend recently asked me how I was coping with living in Nigeria, my reply was

A beautiful shit-hole, in a nutshell. Picture that..

He told me he was trying to; and we both laughed.
Suffering and smiling.
Nigerians have always been good at that.

That is, until a different kind of suffering finally manages to wipe away that nonsensical smile.

Let me curb my passion, my beliefs my political analysis, my grief.
2015 pause, stop, think, breath.

The questioning of political leader, the cry of a generation,
the protests involving more than just this nation.

Having created a monster too large and big to now handle,
things have erupted, have become a scandal.

“But no, we don’t want foreign troops” my friend firmly insisted.
Did you not say we needed to #BringBackOurGirls?

#BringBackOurGirls we cry and we scream.

Foreign intervention,
humanitarian aid.
The arrival of troops,
Negligence, paid.

..our own vineyard we have not kept.

And so, now, others will come and keep it for us.

One Comment Add yours

feel free to say something..

