Reflexions

Sometimes when I’m in a sober and reflective mood, ready and hungry and thirsty for mental food, something to inspire me, I simply read up quotes from people who have made a difference; be that in my life or on a national/global scale.

One of these persons today is Benjamin Disraeli. Some of his quotes make me think, while others simply male me laugh (out loud, literally..)!

“There are three types of lies — lies, damn lies, and statistics.” 
“Time is precious, but truth is more precious than time.” 
“When men are pure, laws are useless; when men are corrupt, laws are broken.” 
“A member of Parliament to Disraeli: ‘Sir, you will either die on the gallows or of some unspeakable disease.’
That depends, Sir,’ said Disraeli, ‘whether I embrace your policies or your mistress.” 
“Never apologize for showing feeling. When you do so, you apologize for the truth.” 
“All is mystery; but he is a slave who will not struggle to penetrate the dark veil.” 
“Most people die with their music still locked up inside them.” 
“The best way to become acquainted with a subject is to write about it. ” 
“How much easier it is to be critical than to be correct.” 
“The greatest good you can do for another is not just share your riches, but to reveal to him his own.” 
“To be conscious that you are ignorant is a great step to knowledge” 
“Action may not always bring happiness; but there is no happiness without action.”
“He was distinguished for ignorance; for he had only one idea, and that was wrong.” 
“Sir, I shall not defeat you – I shall transcend you.” 
“The secret to success is constancy of purpose.” 
“The magic of first love is our ignorance that it can ever end.” 
“Like all great travellers, I have seen more than I remember and remember more than I have seen.” 
“One of the hardest things in this world is to admit you are wrong. And nothing is more helpful in resolving a situation than its frank admission.” 
“The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.” 
“When I want to read a novel, I write one.” 
“Little things affect little minds.” 
“A canter is the cure for all evil.” 
“The expected always happens” 
“We are all born for love. It is the principle of existence, and its only end.” 
“Romance has been elegantly defined as the offspring of fiction and love.” 
“I must follow the people. Am I not their leader?” 
“Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never go any higher than you think.” 
“But what minutes! Count them by sensation, and not by calendars, and each moment is a day.” 
“Everything comes if a man will only wait.” 
“My idea of an agreeable person is a person who agrees with me.
Over the next couple of days I will share my thoughts on some of these quotes.
Should be interested, I invite you to do the same! 😉
feel free to say something..

