A Year of Rest…

It’s a new year and I am grateful for the excitement I feel within. The excitement of knowing that it will be an awesome year! Why/How, you ask? Well, simply because I will make sure of it! I am determined to make this year an amazing one.

You know how you write down resolutions, make plans, put things in place, make certain arrangements, all to ensure that set objectives are achieved? Well, this year I’ve made no such thing and I am better of for it. Not because I do not believe in planning (believe me, I do) but because I’ve got something better planned for 2015.

I am excited because I am at ease. Peace!

You see, as I was reflecting upon the past year, meditating; and as I was envisioning 2015, I decided to go into His Word and see what it had to say about 2015. I know that, just as it had guided me in previous years and set the agenda for the year approaching, it would have something profound to tell me about 2015,

A year of rest for the children of God..

Unlike anything I usually do, however, -which is twisting and turning Scripture and seeking a confirmation for the word received- I simply smiled. I hugged the word and wrote it upon the tablets of my heart. 2015 would indeed be just that: a year of rest!

And so, I thanked Him for the year now passed, and thanked Him for the battles that I would face in 2015, knowing that right in the midst of the raging storms, I would find rest. Perfect peace.

I would not start the new year with plans on how previous goals would be attained in 2015, how I would find that perfect job, how I would be found by that perfect man, how I would get better grades, form new friendships, take better care of myself, buy some of those things I hadn’t managed to buy and go on trips I have been too pre-occupied to go on (the list is endless), but simply step into the new year with a heart at rest. Ease!

I quickly got up and did what any believing child would do: I got up and spoke forth peace. A declaration of faith into every single area of my life: my family, friends, church and relations, but most especially myself. This year, we would experience God on our side; as helper, as shield, as provider, as protector. This year we would not stress but experience His perfect rest.

Funny, how this was precisely Pastor O’s message during our Watch-Night Service last night. Funny, how every single prayer I had prayed in the days leading up to December 31st was confirmed. Funny, how that confirmation I had not sought out decided to present itself anyway. Serendipity! Funny how God works.

I smiled. This year, I would not give in to pressure, I would not succumb to stress. I picked up my phone and started sending personal messages and words of encouragement to loved ones.

For you, I now have one too..

To you, who read this, I say: May this year indeed be a year of rest for you! May you walk in the understanding of The One who has always seen you through. May the trials and tribulations you are about to  face not break but encourage you. May God Himself arise, defend and fight for you. This year, you shall experience great peace. This year, be at ease! This year, enjoy some well-deserved rest. Rest from struggles and fights, from deseases and ailments, from mental and spiritual depression, from unhealthy relationships and financial hardships. This year, may you enter into a season of heartfelt praise. Praise Him while you are in pain, knowing that praising Him is never in vain! May you find the strength to keep silent even when in tears, not to give in to fears, but to simply keep on exhorting His name. May you hide behind Him and rest upon His word. At your workplace, rest. Within your family, rest. Amongst colleagues and friends, rest. Within your heart and mind, rest. This year, allow yourself some rest. Don’t fight any battles, don’t defend yourself. Just immerse yourself in His Word and.. well, rest!

We all too often forget to speak the things that truly matter into our lives; but believe me, rest is a luxury only a handful of people enjoy. For this year I wish all of my readers the very best; and that is: rest!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Beatrice says:

    Awesome! Thank you Vicky. Happy new year and God bless you.

  2. villebilingue says:

    It will be year of rest and dependence on God.

    http://villebilingue.wordpress.com

  3. Timiebix says:

    I say a big amen! Thank you and God bless you!

    Happy New Year to you and your 🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      🙂 Happy new year to you too!

  4. Sharon Salu says:

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who fashi’d resolutions this year. I say a big Amen to those prayers and pray the same for you too. Happy New Year!

  5. Observer says:

    A word in season, considering how many unrests we’ve already had this week!

feel free to say something..

