Sober Reflections..

As it typically happens when you turn a year older, you reflect..
upon yourself and all that relates/connect both to and with/in you.

I was (and still am) extremely grateful for everyone who made an otherwise totally ordinary day special.
And special it was, because – while I expected nothing – I received so much.
From family, and especially friends.

There is something beautifully comforting about stability.
I’ve never asked for it, needed it, and searched for it..
I’ve never really wanted it. In a way, I’m more of an adventure junkie..

But as it so is, when you turn older and take moments to reflect and think back, there are certain things that do make for safety: and that is friends and family.

When one of my sisters didn’t wish me a Happy Birthday until 7pm, I kind of panicked.
What had happened? Did she actually forget my birthday? Was she upset with me? What should I do?
Should I even care?! Maybe I should just cancel my trip to London after-all!!
But care I did.. until she wrote me and told me that her phone had died.
Naturally, this happens naturally with her. And I rolled my eyes.. people are simply people.
And this really was typical of her.. birthday or no birthday. This was her

It really did make me think..

After having spoken to my bff Pastor Moses (NG), and then receiving a call from Pastor O (GB) I watched my phone, wondering when Pastor Marcus (AT) would call; for (apart from my father and brother) these were three of the most significant men in my life. Would he have forgotten? Surely not!
And so, when he finaly called and started blabbing and explaining why he hadn’t called earlier, I got interrupted and literally screamed, “Geeeeeeez.. Just say it!!!” into the receiver. He almost fell to the floor with laughter. “Hahahaha.. Vicky, Vicky, you simply can’t change… Happy Birthdaaaaaay!” and thus I was pacified and totally satisfied.. This was me.

It really did make me think..

It made me think back in amazement: how much people grow and develop with time, and yet never really loose who they truly are. It shed even more light on dreams that I once shared but now live. Aspirations I once wrote about, but now walk towards. It made me smile.. gratitude.

There is something special, something powerful about making dreams a reality. Something rewarding about not giving up and not giving in. Something truly great about simply continuing to walk towards your goals and writing your own story. Something humbling about knowing that He is the one who is really doing the work; and you just a vessel.

Today, I am probably more grateful than I have ever been. I worry less and laugh more, knowing that He who started it all, will see me through, until He calls me home.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Prada says:

    Lol. Happy birthday, drama queen!
    You must be a lovely bit of handful and sunshine to be around 😉

  2. JD Rambler says:

    you’re clearly a lot to handle, but I’m sure your friends and family are doing just fine – happy belated birthday! 🙂

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      LOL.. well, thank you! :p

  3. Wendarling says:

    Congratulations and happy birthday to you my lovely! I recently found a birthday card you gave me in 2013, your heartfelt wishes and prayers for me really warmed my heart. God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him…and you most definitely do! That’s why I’m sure He won’t withhold any good thing from you. Trust the timing of your life…and trust me, I’m a lawyer 😉

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Awwww.. so lovely to read from you! And thank you for your ever-so-sweet words!
      Hahaha! Trust; with you being a lawyer et al.. :p
      How have you been??

      1. Wendarling says:

        I’m good, can’t complain. Will send you a message soon to catch up.xx

  4. Sharon Salu says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Yes, He who started this good work in you will be faithful to complete it. 🙂

    I just nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Please check it out here: http://www.sharonsalu.com/2015/10/09/blog-award-from-nedoux-sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers/

    Looking forward to your response.

feel free to say something..

