Let It Go and Laugh!

I find this past year to have been particularly stressful: emotionally, mentally, financially, physically, and spiritually I was drained. Be it pressure from within or without, I found myself – more often than not – choosing to give in (even if only for a while).

Looking back, I’m extremely grateful to have made it through – alive; in one piece. Remembering the many losses so many individuals, families and communities faced this year, I am particularly appreciative of life.

Walking through the beautiful streets and malls of Vienna this holiday-season, I found myself cherishing the simple fact of being able to take in fresh air and safely live in the here-and-now. Embracing moments of simplicity, I realized I lacked nothing: I was blessed beyond measure.

When I asked the Lord for a word for the year to come, He once again brought to my remembrance the only thing that mattered to Him: others!
He reminded me of the fact that all He wanted me to do was impact the lives of others positively. It was an important reminder that especially in the face of trouble and dismay, one cannot afford to get carried away.

At-times tempted to remember painful moments, old friendships, betrayals and perceived failures, He told me to let go of these too! But what about..? Well, just let go of it: let go of all the hurt and all the pain; of all painful memories and losses. As this year is coming to an end, leave all these behind. Allow yourself a fresh start.

Consequently, He reminded me to laugh. Promising me to continuously keep and preserve both my loved ones and me (just as He always has), I needed to get back on track: to let go of stress and all associated worries and simply learn to trust Him again. To allow Him lead, direct and use me – for the good and benefit of others.. and while He does so, be glad, at ease, and laugh.

I guess this is my word to you for the coming year too: don’t be too hard on or harsh with yourself, randomly laugh. Rejoice in the work that you do, in the life that you live. Be blessed and be a blessing. Don’t stop yourself from trying out something gloriously new. Allow yourself a fresh starts! Pick up that project or start a new one. Publish that book and write a new one. Reconcile with that friend or make a new one. Just remember: in all you do, laugh your way through!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post. Thanks sis xx

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Always a pleasure 🙂 x

  2. Sumbo says:

    Babe u r in the spirit. Some of what u said was echoed by Pastor O last night. I’ll email u my notes. God is faithful all we have to do is trust and obey. 2016 is gonna be a fabulous year. I just can wait to testify of God’s goodness in my life!!!

    1. DeMorrieaux says:

      Hey Sumbie,

      Got your notes. Thank you!
      God is one! It will be an awesome year indeed.
      Numerous points you shared were echoed in our crossover service too.
      I’m excited about this year!!

  3. tash says:

    Amen. I’ll keep it in mind.

feel free to say something..

